Australian cricket star Steve Smith pips Pat Cummins to claim Allan Border Medal

Steve Smith was stunned to be taught he pipped Pat Cummins in Allan Border medal voting on Saturday, when Beth Mooney’s good Twenty20 World Cup was recognised with the Belinda Clark award.

Smith and Mooney have been the large winners on a socially-distant evening of nights for Cricket Australia.

Smith’s dominant ODI collection towards India, throughout which he scored a pair of 62-ball centuries, helped him be a part of David Warner as a three-time winner of the Allan Border medal.

Smith polled 126 votes to end above Cummins (117) and white-ball skipper Aaron Finch (97) on the leaderboard.

Steve Smith dominated the ODI series against India to claim his third Allan Border Medal.
Digicam IconSteve Smith dominated the ODI collection towards India to claim his third Allan Border Medal. Credit score: DAN HIMBRECHTS/AAPIMAGE

It got here a yr after Warner topped the depend then choked again tears as he thanked household for his or her assist within the aftermath of the Cape City dishonest scandal.

There was no crimson carpet and few formalities on Saturday, when Smith realized within the morning of his honour earlier than formally being revealed because the winner in the course of the pre-game broadcast of the Massive Bash League last.

“It bought given to me by Tim Cruickshank from the ACA (gamers’ union), he introduced it up from Melbourne,” Smith advised reporters.

“I didn’t anticipate it. I assumed Marnus (Labuschagne) or Pat Cummins have been in all probability the frontrunners as a result of they each had distinctive years.

“I didn’t payment like l had the largest Check summer season, which … (is the format that) holds essentially the most votes.

“It’s clearly an ideal thrill … actually honoured to have gained my third.”

4-time winners Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke are the one gamers to have gained the Allan Border medal, launched in 2000, greater than Smith or Warner.

Perth Scorchers star Beth Mooney won the Belinda Clark Award as Australia’s best female cricketer for 2020.
Digicam IconPerth Scorchers star Beth Mooney gained the Belinda Clark Award as Australia’s greatest feminine cricketer for 2020. Credit score: CRICKET AUSTRALIA/PR IMAGE

Mooney, the world’s top-ranked Twenty20 batter, scored a record-breaking 259 runs at 64.75 to be named participant of the match throughout Australia’s T20 World Cup triumph.

The 27-year-old now formally stands alongside Ellyse Perry, Meg Lanning and Alyssa Healy – who had topped the leaderboard in the course of the earlier seven Belinda Clark award counts – as a real famous person.

Mooney polled 60 votes to edge Lanning (58) and Georgia Wareham (50).

“We’ve actually bought some gamers within the Australia facet in the mean time who shall be remembered for a very long time as among the greatest we’ve ever produced,” Mooney stated.

“To be taking part in alongside them, not to mention being up on an honour roll subsequent to them (after) profitable this award, is a fairly surreal factor.

“It’s named after Belinda Clark, who’s an absolute pioneer of our sport and girls’s sport on this nation, so I believe it would take a little bit of time to sink in.

“It’s actually one thing I gained’t take with no consideration … I’m very grateful.”

Mooney additionally took house the ladies’s T20 participant of the yr, whereas Rachael Haynes was named ODI participant of the yr.

Smith (ODI participant of the yr), Cummins (Check participant of the yr) and Ashton Agar (T20 participant of the yr) collected the opposite males’s gongs, whereas Josh Lalor gained the neighborhood impression award for his half within the Mirror Ahead marketing campaign.